Grand Haven South Pier & Lighthouse
1001 S. Harbor Dr,
Grand Haven, MI 49417
The original location of Grand Haven’s iconic lighthouse collapsed in 1852 due to continuous erosion and persistent storms, which left the port without a beacon for three years. The lighthouse’s location continued to be modified until the pier was built in 1893, and it was moved to its current location in 1907. Many captains were not notified by the change in construction, which could have caused mass destruction to their ships and to the pier. Fortunately, they were familiar with the port and could safely navigate it. To volunteer or donate to ongoing preservations efforts of the Grand Haven South Pier & Lighthouses, click here.
Big Red Lighthouse
2215 Ottawa Beach Rd,
Holland, MI 494
In 1847, recently-arrived Dutch settlers in Holland, MI, began asking the U.S. government for funds to construct a harbor, to no avail. For 20 years, the community pooled their efforts to establish a harbor and build a permanent pier. Finally, in 1867, the government took over construction and did not complete the lighthouse for nearly fifty years. While it was too late for Holland to become a vital commercial port, the lighthouse served as a resort business that housed guests from Chicago on the Graham and Morton shipping line. Dubbed, “Big Red Lighthouse,” it is protected and maintained by a non-profit lighthouse commission and is considered Michigan’s most photographed lighthouse. Click here for more information.
Muskegon South Pierhead Lighthouse
Muskegon, MI 49441
Muskegon’s South Pierhead Lighthouse is said to be located almost directly across Lake Michigan from Milwaukee, WI. The initial lighthouse was built in 1851. The original structure was made out of bricks and topped with a wooden light tower in its center. In 2010, the Michigan Lighthouse Conservancy was granted possession it. Today, visitors can tour the lighthouse periodically. Click here for more information.
Muskegon South Breakwater Lighthouse
Muskegon, MI 49441
The Muskegon South Breakwater Lighthouse was built in 1930 in order to mark the outer end of the break wall. Along with the South Pierhead Lighthouse, the Lighthouse Conservancy was granted possession of the lighthouse in 2010. Click here for more information.